Pages Menu

Posted by on Sep 22, 2020 in ACE Learning Center, ACE School Report, Continuing Education | 0 comments

KALW Wins 12 SF Press Club Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards Including Eight Audio Academy Graduates

By Ben Trefny, News Director, KALW, Audience Supported Public Media

The San Francisco Press Club has announced the winners of the Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards for the 2019 calendar year. (Remember then? It really wasn’t that long ago!)

Members of our team won 12 awards! That includes eight Audio Academy graduates! Plus, the producers we train and work with at Solano and San Quentin State Prisons took honors as well!

Here’s the list of recipients, including Audio Academy alum graduation years in parentheses:

Digital Media: Videography
First Place: Jenee Darden, Jen Chien, Zoe Mountain, Gabe Grabin, “Where Is East Oakland?”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: Documentary
First Place: Lisa Morehouse, Jonathan Davis, Ben Trefny, David Boyer, Gabe Grabin, “The Intersection: ART meets MOTION at Burning Man”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: Feature Story / Light Nature
First Place: Alyia Yates (’19), Lisa Morehouse, “Where Can Women Go to Heal, Bond … and Twerk?”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: Feature Story / Serious Nature
First Place: Christine Nguyen (’18), Lisa Morehouse, Gabe Grabin, “Vietnamese Immigrants Care for Parents with Dementia Amidst Stigma”, KALW
Second Place: JoAnn Deluna (’19), Jenee Darden, “The History Of California’s Sexual Education”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: Investigative Reporting
First Place: Magnolia McKay (’19), Lisa Morehouse, James Rowlands, “1101 Connecticut: Transforming Potrero Hills’ Public Housing”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: News Story
First Place: Pria Mahadevan (’19), David Boyer, “San Francisco Banned Flavored Tobacco Sales. Now What?”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: Podcast – News
First Place: Hana Baba, Marissa Ortega-Welch, Jenee Darden, Porfirio Rangel (’19), Tarek Fouda, “Crosscurrents”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: Series or Continuing Coverage
First Place: b.f. thames, Damon Cooke, Joe Kirk, Stanley “Spoon” Jackson, Steve Drown, Chanthon Bun, Greg Eskridge, Edmond Richardson, Gregg Sayers, Tommy “Shakur” Ross, Nathan McKinney, Thanh Tran, Bryan Mazza, Ninna Gaensler-Debs, Angela Johnston, Kristin McCandless, Marissa Ortega-Welch, Jessica Placzek, Andrew Stelzer, Ben Trefny, Tiana Williams, Eli Wirtschafter, “Uncuffed”, KALW

Radio/Audio-Non-Commercial: Sports Feature
First Place: Bo Walsh (’18), Ben Trefny, James Rowlands, Gabe Grabin, David Boyer, “Homegrown Baller Joe Ellis On Growing Up In Oakland And Playing For The Warriors”, KALW

Radio/Audio: Podcast – General Interest
First Place: Hana Baba, Leila Day, “What’s in your blood?”, The Stoop
Third Place: Leila Day, Hana Baba, “Gullah Geechee”, The Stoop

Here’s the full list of awardees:

Congratulations, team! Well earned!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *