Pages Menu

Posted by on Feb 14, 2022 in ACE Learning Center, ACE School Report, Continuing Education | 0 comments

KALW Wins Big at NorCal Society of Professional Journalist Awards

by Ben Trefny, KALW Interim Executive Director

KALW News reporters, editors, and engineers were recently recognized by the Society of Professional Journalists of Northern California for their Excellence in Journalism Awards in three audio/radio categories and with one student award across all media.

Here are the producers and stories that were recognized:

ARTS & CULTURE (radio/audio): Jenee Darden of KALW for episodes of “Sights and Sounds” about a best-selling trans author who grew up in Oakland, another local author who is the producer of a live-action Marvel show, and students connecting to history through the hit musical “Hamilton.”

EXPLANATORY JOURNALISM (radio/audio): Andrew Stelzer, Sarah Shourd, Lisa Morehouse and Gabe Grabin of KALW for “Criminalizing Mental Illness” Part I and Part II.

ONGOING COVERAGE (radio/audio): Holly J. McDede, Sona Avakian, Chris Egusa, Alice Woefle, and David Boyer of KALW for “The Progressive Prosecutor” a series looking at San Francisco District Attorney Chesa Boudin’s first year in office.

STUDENT SPECIAL PROJECT (all media): Chosang Tenzin, Hannah Ni, Zara Ahmed, Avery Dauer, Masiyah Edwards, Maddie Johnson, and Ava Richards of KALW for “tbh,” a show by, for and about teenagers, for episodes on criminalizing student behavior, in-school segregation, and sexual assault and relationships.

We also want to congratulate SPJ award winners who are graduates of our training programs: Marisol Medina-Cadena, Jessica Placzek, Asal Ehsanipour, Christine Nguyen, Sukey Lewis, Sandhya Dirks, Danielle Venton, and Laura Klivans.

SPJ NorCal’s 36th Excellence in Journalism Awards Ceremony will be held virtually on Thursday, February 17 at 6pm.

A gathering of current and former KALW newsroom reporters and trainees on Dec. 4, 2021.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *